It wasn’t until ‘Blog Against Ableism’ Day (or some such thing, I forget the exact title) last year that I realised how much I use ableist language every day. I use ‘lame’ all the time, and I don’t realise until I’ve said it.

I’ve addressed this with a couple of people, all of whom have said that that’s not what that word means any more. But that’s very easy for them (and me) to say. It’s not up to us what someone else finds offensive. And so I was thrilled to find this post listing some alternatives to ‘lame’, ‘crazy’ and other ableist terms. I’m making it my mission to stop using these words and replace them with something better. I particularly like ‘asinine’.

Leave a Reply

