Easy A: The Best Film I Have Seen This Year. Maybe Ever.

 

I finally got a chance to see ‘Easy A’. And I almost want to tell people that it’s the best film I’ve ever seen. That would be a lie, of course, since ‘Grease’ is the best film I have seen ever. But ‘Easy A’ follows close behind, almost trumping ‘The History Boys’ for the coveted second-place trophy.

Now obviously no film is perfect, certainly not one made to appeal to a mass market and fit into the genre of rom-com. But this definitely comes near. I’m hoping to get a showing of it at my Uni in the next term, because the issues it talks about are *so* relevant. To every girl. Ever.

The basic plotline goes: Girl lies and tells Best Friend she’s had sex with a made-up college guy. God-Botherer overhears and spreads rumours about her. Girl pretends to have sex with Gay Best Friend to make him more popular. Girl is ostracised. Girl pretends she really is a superslut and helps lots of other Geeky Guys pretend they’ve had sex with her for money. Hilarious japes and meaningful commentary on what it means to be a teenage girl in the world of the Double Standard.

Of course, you all know about the Dreaded Double Standard. There is a moment in the film after she pretends to have sex with the Gay Best Friend. He walks out to applause and praise. She walks out to evil glares and judgement. And whilst this is an issue that needs to be tackled, it is hardly revolutionary to point it out. Christina Aguilera was doing that in 2003. And I’m sure that wasn’t the first time.

What I really enjoyed about this film was the kick-ass female protagonist. She is smart. She gets on with her English teacher. She’s never been in trouble before this happens. She is the kind of person I actually want to be friends with. We could talk about literature. Booyah.

And even more than that, her reaction to the attention was *so* realistic. Because whilst it is easy to moan and bitch about objectification, who doesn’t want to secretly be the hottest girl at school? Maybe just me. But even feminists are not immune to cultural pressure to be sexy, and no matter how wrong you know it is to be wanted for your body than for your brains, I can’t believe that no one wouldn’t enjoy the attention a tiny bit.

I don’t want to spoil the story for you, but a guy tries to *actually* have sex with her, rather than just saying that he has. And she is obviously not cool with that. But he is under the impression that because she has this reputation that she really is *easy*. And whilst there is nothing wrong with being easy, I thought that the messages about consent, about being slutty in some circumstances does not make you up for anything (especially non-consensual sexual activity), and her reaction to the situation were all incredibly interesting.

Her parents also rocked my world. If I ever have kids that is how I will behave. Non-judgemental. But still embarrassing.

Basically, what I am saying is that this movie rocks. Put this on in front of my baby sister and teach her something that no other rom-com ever will. That slut-shaming is not cool. That it happens to every girl, and not even the ones who actually are slutty (and I say slutty in the most sex-positive way possible thank-you-very-much). That your sex life is no one’s business but your own. And to use a condom. Obvs.

There is so much to talk about in this movie. But I can’t explain it nearly as well as the actual thing. So go forth. Watch an amusing, feel-good critique of slut-shaming, sexualisation, Christianity and the Dreaded Double Standard.

As a taster, watch this. There’s some trailer bits, some Lady Gaga music, and an interview with Emma Stone, who is awesome.



Leave a comment